Northwest Virtual Prevention
Leadership Academy

Registration Opens August 4th

About the Virtual Prevention Leadership Academy

The goal of the Northwest PTTC Prevention Leadership Academy is to engage leaders in the prevention workforce to identify and build upon their strengths in creative problem-solving, strategic planning, and charismatic communication.

The COVID-19 pandemic has challenged leaders of local substance misuse prevention efforts to keep communities engaged. Given the uncertainties around face-to-face meeting, many of us are looking for new ways to re-energize our connections. The Virtual Northwest Prevention Leadership Academy creates an opportunity for participants to learn and experience online tools that create energy and empowerment to engage leaders, coalitions, and community members in our collective prevention efforts.

The Virtual Leadership Academy will explore both leadership principles using a set of Liberating Structures customized for prevention and online delivery.  Liberating Structures is a set of practical methods and tools designed to foster active participation and create innovation among team members, collaborators, and communities. Their use facilitates trust-building and shared commitment to group values and outcomes. Northwest PTTC staff is excited to be collaborating with facilitators of Liberating Structures to present the academy.  Learn more about the facilitators.

Cost

The Leadership Conference is free-of-charge to participants.

Primary Audience

The primary audience for this year’s Prevention Leadership Academy is community-level and mid-level prevention practitioners representing states and tribes throughout HHS Region 10: Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington. The Prevention Leadership Academy Registration is limited to 100 participants and is limited to HHS Region 10 participants.

Participation Requirements

  • Complete up to an two hours of independent learning activities
  • Use a web-camera and have appropriate technology to join the online videoconferencing platform (i.e., internet connection, built-in or USB webcam, laptop/tablet, built-in/USB/Bluetooth speakers & microphone)
  • Actively engage and be on camera 90% of the time during each session, since this is not a webinar series and active participation is essential to creating a learning community environment.
  • Watch a 20-minute zoom tutorial video if you are not familiar with this technology.

Participant Registration

Registration for the Prevention Leadership Academy will open on August 4 and will close on September 1, 2020.  Individuals will need to create an account on the PTTC Learning website, (or log in using an existing account), before being able to register for the Academy.

Registration for this event is now closed.

Continuing Education

In order to receive 15 continuing education hours, participants are expected to complete up to two hours outside of the live sessions, join each live session, and be on-camera for the live sessions. Participants will need to confirm with their certification board to determine if these certification hours are accepted towards their specific certification requirements.

Leadership Academy Schedule: Save These Dates and Times

Session Content Time Dates
Session 1
Live Zoom
Introductions, Orientation, and Elements of Leadership 9:00 am – 11:00 am Alaska
10:00 am – 12:00 pm Pacific
11:00 am – 1:00 pm Mountain
September 14, 2020
Session 2
Live Zoom
Developing a Personal Leadership Plan and Practices 9:00 am – 1:00 pm Alaska
10:00 am – 2:00 pm Pacific
11:00 am – 3:00 pm Mountain
September 24, 2020
Session 3
Live Zoom
Leading Effective Coalitions 9:00 am – 1:00 pm Alaska
10:00 am – 2:00 pm Pacific
11:00 am – 3:00 pm Mountain
September 25, 2020
Session 4
Live Zoom
Leadership Wisdom Group: Working through Difficult Situations.

Application of Learning to a Leadership Plan, Part 1.

9:00 am – 10:30 am Alaska
10:00 am – 11:30 am Pacific
11:00 am – 12:30 pm Mountain
October 6, 2020
Session 5
Live Zoom
Leadership Wisdom Group: Application of Learning to a Leadership Plan, Part 2. 9:00 am – 10:30 am Alaska
10:00 am – 11:30 am Pacific
11:00 am – 12:30 pm Mountain
October 14, 2020

Questions

Contact Clarissa Lam Yuen (clamyuen@casat.org) for any questions or difficulty in registering

Click to Register
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search